Get Ready

Towards the end of last year I decided that it was time for a change. Time that I started really going after what I desire. What I’ve always desired. Agriculture. Horses, cattle, you name it. I’ve loved the ranching style of life since I was little. There are even pictures of me on tractors and riding ponies at the fair.

littleponies

See?

No matter how much I loved it as a kid, there was always something that made me think there was no future in being a cowgirl. Afterall what kind of money does that profession make? It’s a crazy idea to want to be a cowgirl. Especially when no one within the last few generations has been anywhere near a farm or ranch.

It’s something that I’d have to be born or married into. At least that had been my thought for the last twenty something years of my life. And how lucky had I not turned out to be. I’m sure my family thought that it was just the musings of a little girl fascinated with horses. There are times even now that I think they still do. That I just like to play cowgirl.

"Rodeo Cowgirl"
“Rodeo Cowgirl” (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It couldn’t be further from the truth, however I can see where they might get that idea. For the most part I feel like I have just been playing cowgirl. I go riding when I get the chance, if a friend offers. I haven’t been to a rodeo, or even seen cows in almost a year. I’ve let the passion I once had as a little girl sit on the curb.

A change is needed. I was raised to believe that I can do anything I put my mind to. So why haven’t I? Why have I let doubt creep in? I’m better than that. I’m better than just letting time pass by as I sit pretending to be content.

This year will be the start of a new path for me. A path that will be the less taken. As Robert Frost put it;

” Two roads diverged in a wood, and I

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference”

Thanks to my friends for keeping me inspired by their words and actions and pushing me, sometimes literally, towards my dreams. Sometimes a good kick in the butt is what’s called for to shake me out of what I’ve settled for. And realize that I can do it on my own, like my parents always told me I could. I’m not waiting for it to fall into my lap anymore.

One thought on “Get Ready

Leave a Reply

